top of page

Life as an Advocate

Updated: Mar 11, 2021


PC: Andrew Rose

My family has always had outdoor hobbies. Both of my parents are cyclists and backpackers, when I was a toddler they would hike and carry me and my brother on their backs. I learned to have a great respect for the natural environment: to not litter, to recycle, and generally take care of things. However, the older I become the more I realize that a single individuals actions are only a small part of the picture. While there are many ways to create change, I have found that by utilizing my strengths as a bike mechanic I can best help the local community. By helping people maintain their bikes, these bikes are kept out of landfills, and a well maintained bike is more likely to be ridden. The more people on bikes, the better Cincinnati will become. New bike infrastructure will be built, reducing the barriers to entry to cycling and creating a safer environment for those currently riding.


While on the surface my hobbies of cycling and rock climbing may seem relatively environmentally friendly, there are still costs. However, if I can help others gain an appreciation for nature through these outdoor activities, this may counteract the negative side-effects. What would the world look like if every CEO or business owner enjoyed hiking or kayaking? What if every government official rode a bike to work? Alternative transportation would become emphasized, greater care would be taken to the damage caused by industrial waste, products might be designed around more than just a profit margin. While my individual impact on the environment may be inconsequential, if I can help more people ride bikes because of my work at the Bike Kitchen and UC Sustainability, then a far greater change could be created through the power of collective activism.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page