top of page
  • Writer's pictureKyle Wilson

Half a Decade with UC Sustainability

Updated: Mar 11, 2021

My passion for sustainability was fostered from a young age by a family that took

every possible opportunity to explore the world around us. Each family trip was highlighted by hikes which immersed me in the beauties of nature. In recent years this has evolved into long backpacking and climbing trips with my friends. A personal passion for science fiction exposed me to the overwhelming pessimism of the literary community associated with the human impact on our planet. Many of these novels depict apocalyptic futures that see Earth stripped of resources and much of the beauty and diversity that I had come to value. I made it my mission to be one the forefront of a shift towards greener living. This goal led me to a career in urban planning where I hope to work internationally with cities on mitigating their carbon footprints and co-existing with natural systems. I am currently in my 5th year at DAAP and will be returning in the fall for one year of grad school before graduating with my Masters in Community Planning.


I discovered UC Sustainability in the Spring of 2016 when I attended an Earth Week event touring the University power plant. That tour was a snapshot of what I would come to love about being an advocate and involved in the office for the next 4, going on 5 years. Our Office of Sustainability is the perfect place to start when hoping to learn how to lead a more sustainable lifestyle and also support that on a larger scale. Over the years I have had the privilege of visiting institutions across the city and learning how they are contributing to a more equitable world. From Imago Eco-Village in Price Hill to the Rumpke Materials Recycling Facility in St. Bernard, there are many hands influencing positive change here in Cincinnati. I have also been able to attend several conferences on behalf of the University, including two Midwest Sustainability Summits, a conference focused on Re-Use and three UC Sustainability Summits planned by students active in our community. These experiences have taught me so much about current trends in sustainable living and ways to be a more vocal leader in your community fighting for the future you desire. We bring so much of this knowledge back to UC through weekly films, lectures and activities meant to educate the student community about these crucial topics.


In terms of physical changes, our base of operations on campus has always been the Bike Kitchen. While we use it for our weekly meetings and storage of crucial supplies, this is also a valuable campus asset where our trained bike mechanics run a student bike-share program and help to repair bikes for any in need of assistance. In my time as an advocate I have seen the demolition of our original BK housed within the old Alumni Center and the construction of our new facility underneath Dabney Hall. Slightly off-campus, behind the Early Childhood Learning Center, we run the Soiled Hands Learning Garden where we grow a variety of fresh produce while working with the children there and donate the excess to the Bearcat Food Pantry. The best part about being a sustainability advocate is that each day offers a different activity or opportunity to learn and you are constantly surrounded by a community of kind, intelligent and like-minded people who are also working for a better tomorrow. I can’t recommend involvement with our Office enough and I hope to see you at one of our events soon!


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page