top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid Haver

Life As An Advocate

Updated: Mar 11, 2021



Before coming to college, I had little to no understanding of what sustainability even was or why it is important. But college is about learning, and I am so glad that I have been able to learn about sustainability and its importance in our daily lives. I started my journey as a sustainability advocate in October 2018, my freshman year. As a bicycle enthusiast, I decided to apply to the Bike Kitchen on campus. This gave me the great opportunity to meet new people who enjoyed the same hobby as I and to make some extra money as well. Becoming a mechanic at the BK brings the extra responsibility of being a sustainability advocate. This was a little daunting at first given that I had no prior experience or understanding of sustainability, however I was welcomed with open arms. My fellow advocates taught me about what sustainability is and they opened my eyes to the severity of the current environmental issues going on today. I have learned over my year and a half as an advocate that being sustainable is a lifestyle. It's the little things we do everyday subconsciously that make the greatest impact. Sustainability is about preserving the natural beauty of the world and ensuring that it will remain for generations to come. That is why sustainability is important to me. As a mechanic, I help and encourage people to use alternative forms of transportation that are sustainable and healthy. Biking is extremely beneficial both physically and environmentally. Everyone can do their part in becoming more sustainable, and maybe biking more often can be the first step.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page